Recipe / The Best French Toast

French Toast with Huckleberry Syrup and Blueberries // blog.leahsprague.com

I have made french toast about 3 times in my entire life. The first was when I was 11. I was home alone with just my sister, and decided to make a special treat for breakfast. I can’t remember if I had a recipe in front of me or not, but the end result was a very egg-y bread that was uncooked in the middle. Needless to say, after one bite I retreated back to cereal.

The second was this year, mid-June. I found this recipe for “Never Fail French Toast” on The Sugar Hit. “Never Fail” sounded pretty promising to me, so I decided to try it out.

It is perfect. So perfect, in fact, that I ate it before I could even take photos. Which is actually okay, because now I have a chance to make it again! This time I made it with huckleberry syrup (my favorite!!) and some fresh blueberries, which honestly makes me never want regular old perfect french toast again!

Keep scrolling for the recipe I found off The Sugar Hit.

French Toast with Huckleberry Syrup and Blueberries // blog.leahsprague.com

2 pieces of stale bread

1 egg
2 tbsp sugar
1/3 cup milk
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Mix ingredients together in a wide bowl. Place pieces of bread on the mixture, and squish down a little bit to make sure it gets really soggy. Let it soak for 1 minute, then flip the pieces over and repeat.

As Sarah from The Sugar Hit explains, the secret really is using low heat to make sure the bread cooks all the way through. Soggy, egg-y bread is a thing of the past.  ENJOY! -Leah

French Toast with Huckleberry Syrup and Blueberries // blog.leahsprague.comFrench Toast with Huckleberry Syrup and Blueberries // blog.leahsprague.com

Leave a Reply

