Recipe // Mini Matcha Pie

This year I got the incredible opportunity to attend the Cherry Bombe Marketplace in New York, which was so inspiring that it deserves its own blog post (coming soon!). I loved meeting so many different female entrepreneurs who started their own food-centered companies, ranging from homemade pop tarts to fancy chef pants. I was most excited to see that Four & Twenty Blackbirds, the famous pie shop based in Brooklyn, also had a booth. All their pie flavors sound delicious: salty honey, black sesame, black bottom oat pie…  the list goes on.

This past weekend, I decided to take a (temporary) break from my muffin tins and ramekins and make mini matcha pies from the Four & Twenty Blackbirds cookbook. The recipe is simple and not too sweet, which allows the matcha flavor to come through really nicely. The matcha pairs well with the extremely smooth texture of the custard.

Above is a sample of the real matcha pie from Four & Twenty Blackbirds. Even though I doubled the matcha in the recipe, my pies did not have the same deep green. The next time I try this recipe (and trust me – there will be a next time!) I will try quadrupling the matcha. I love matcha, but I find that most matcha recipes are too subtle.

While at the Marketplace, I got to meet Emily Elsen, one of the co-founders of Four and Twenty Blackbirds. It was so inspiring to see her come in person, despite how big her shop has become!

Leave a Reply

