Recipe / Warm Winter Salad

Warm Winter Salad // blog.leahsprague.com

Back home from my first semester at college (!!!), I have been thoroughly enjoying being able to cook again. I never would have imagined what I would miss most about home was the kitchen. I missed the flexibility of being able to cook whatever and whenever I wanted, and being able to have more fresh vegetables.

One of my favorite on-campus food spots for when I  wanted a break from dorm food was sweetgreen (fun fact – thanks to the various clubs/events I attend, I have never had to pay for my own sweetgreen salad!). Obsessed with one of their fall salads, I decided to make a copycat recipe with my own twist at home. Scroll down to recreate my new favorite warm winter salad!Warm Winter Salad // blog.leahsprague.com

Warm Winter Salad // blog.leahsprague.com

Ingredients
Note: You can make as much or as little of any ingredient as you want. This salad is meant to be just thrown together!

  • Sweet potatoes, cubed
  • Oil (I used avocado oil)
  • Salt
  • Brussel sprouts, halved
  • Pesto
  • Garlic
  • Garlic, minced
  • Mushrooms, sliced
  • Pear, cubed
  • Lettuce
  • Balsamic vinaigrette/glaze

Warm Winter Salad // blog.leahsprague.com

Instructions

  1. Preheat the oven for 350 F.
  2. Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil for easy cleanup. Place sweet potatoes on sheet, then evenly and lightly coat them with oil. Add salt to taste. Let bake for 30 minutes, or until soft enough to break easily with a fork.
  3. While the sweet potatoes are cooking, pour a little oil in a frying pan and cook the brussel sprouts until they are a little charred. Set aside in a separate bowl, then add and mix pesto to taste.
  4. Pour a little more oil in the frying pan and the chopped garlic. When the onions begin to look translucent, add the sliced mushrooms.
  5. While the mushrooms are cooking, cut up a pear into small pieces.
  6. Line a bowl with lettuce, then add the sweet potatoes, pesto brussel sprouts, mushrooms, and pear. Top with a little balsamic glaze or vinaigrette, to preference.
Leave a Reply

