Blogging: Too Materialistic?

Hey everyone,

 

Pink Presents: Questions of buying stuff // blog.leahsprague.com

As I was showing someone my blog the other day, I looked over their shoulder and realized how many posts I had that were collections of pretty items with pretty colors for “Monthly Lovelies” and style posts (like herehere and here). I was almost a little embarrassed. I realized this blog seems materialistic, and that isn’t what I was going for in this blog.
Honestly, my favorite part of “Monthly Lovelies” is finding the perfect color combination or making everything look good together! However, in order to get the right mix, I do have to look around for a bit (sometimes a while). And out of everything I select to put on the collages, I am 0.0000001% likely to ever purchase the item, ever. I am not going to deny the fact that I do love looking at these pretty things; why else would I made these collages in the first place? But I guess that I have been trying to look at these posts in a new perspective.

Anyway, this has just been something on my mind lately. Is it okay to be constantly on the lookout for items, or spend a long time on store websites?

“Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal, but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.” Matthew 6:19-21

What do you guys think?

Consumer World: My Secret Pin Board // blog.leahsprague.com

top image source // pinterest (my own)

Leave a Reply

