Welcome, 2014!

Hey everyone!

I can’t believe it is already 2014! Here’s to a great year filled with friends, family and good times.

Looking Forward: Welcome, 2014! // blog.leahsprague.com

Here are my resolutions and goals for this year:

New Year's Resolutions // blog.leahsprague.com
I finished Little Women by Louisa May Alcott yesterday, so I feel like I am already on a roll 🙂
On my list:
1. Uncle Tom’s Cabin
2. Sherlock Holmes
3. Catcher in the Rye
4. Peter Pan
5. Anna Karenina
6. Pride and Prejudice

The number of books I read in 2013 was pitiful, so I am hoping to change that this year. I also downloaded the Goodreads app a couple of days ago, so hopefully that will be encouraging!

New Year's Resolutions // blog.leahsprague.com

Yes, this is vague, and one of the most common resolutions 🙂
So, to be more specific; I want to eat more nuts, salads, fruits, and sweet potatoes, and get seconds on vegetables instead of bread.
I want to eat less food because it is there, but actually think about whether or not I am actually hungry, or if I will feel better after eating it. (I have noticed I feel sort of gross after eating candy – that’s why I don’t like to eat candy ever anymore!)
I also want to drink more water. I found my greatest limitation was pure laziness; if I didn’t bring my water bottle, I didn’t drink as much. No more! I will bring my water bottle to school every day.
I want to make an effort to walk more. Last year I promised myself to go for a run every Friday afternoon, but honestly I was so tired every Friday I felt like doing nothing. This year, I am going to make it easier on myself; walk. Walk to the library, and pick up the classical books. Walk around the neighborhood after coming home. It takes 10 minutes, but is enough to get moving, and clear my head.

New Year's Resolutions // blog.leahsprague.com

I have a lot of goals for this blog! After interning BlogShop last November, I have been inspired and determined to make this blog be the absolute best it can be.
1. Develop my personal blog style
2. Do more recipe posts
3. Aim for 2 posts a week, and of those 2, 1 must be original content
4. Clear up the tags and categories on the blog; it’s been getting a little out of hand!
New Year's Resolutions // blog.leahsprague.com

I want to bake and create a lot more new things this year. I have so many DIY projects and recipes saved away, but I have never attempted them. This will be the year!
The number one thing I want to experiment with tea. Last winter I fell in love with chai tea, and I want to actually try making it at home!

My Goals for 2014 // blog.leahsprague.com

Now this may sound weird, but I have a set of new year’s resolutions AND goals. I think that there is actually a difference; I think of resolutions as an ongoing commitment that you can work on for the entire year, while with a goal there is usually a clear point where you are done. Here are my 2 goals for this year:

1. Figure out tech stuff.
iTunes, Skydrive and photos… it is all currently a mess. It is all working, but definitely a big mess.

2. Open an Etsy store
I already have an Etsy store, but haven’t actually put any products up for sale. This is definitely my big project goal this year!

What are your new years resolutions and goals?

Leave a Reply

