Photography: Bokeh

Hello everyone!

Its finally Friday and it is time for winter break! I am so excited; after finishing my final exams I feel like I definitely need this.

And with Christmas and lights on my mind, I have recently discovered the bokeh photography technique. Bokeh is intentional, aesthetically pleasing light that is out of focus, and generally is in specific shapes. Anything else and it becomes just an out of focus blur. While I don’t think all photos should be this way, when the blur is used in the right way it seems magical!

Main1

There are many different ways you can go with this technique, but I find that dresses and strings of lights are prettiest 🙂

Main2

Some great video that gives step by steps to get this effect can be found here (more of an at home, DIY type of video) or here (more professional, explanation video)

Top left / Top right / Bottom left / Bottom right

Leave a Reply

